Guitar Zeus Korea

Carmine Appice is an American rock drummer who debut in the late 1960’s. He had the idea to write and record a project that would spotlight the guitar “Gods” from around the world. That’s how he got together with bassist Tony Franklin and bassist/keyboardist Kelly Keeling to work on “Guitar Zeus” project. In the Korea project, they also collaborated with engineer Pat Regan.

Seo Jae-Hyuck (서재혁) took part in “Guitar Zeus Korea” project, which album was released in 2002. He played the bass for the 5th track in the album, “Days ‘R’ Nites”, together with guitarist Joseph Kim.

I finally got my Guitar Zeus Korea CD about a month ago after a long search, and finally last night I bumped into him. As usual I couldn’t approach him first but he waved to me (love him!^^) so I approached him when the rest of his company took a walk outside (he was with his family). I asked for his autograph on the album jacket, and signing my album jacket, he said, “he’s dead” referring to his partner Joseph Kim. I thought I heard wrong so I confirmed again, suddenly I forgot the word “dead” in the most polite form in Korean so I stuttered. He said yes, and stupidly I asked, “how…” well, I just feel so insensitive about it now.. It seemed to be an old story for him, but it had to be an uneasy memory. May he rest in peace.

In this album, the following legends in Korean rock history also took part, among the names I know:

신대철 of 시나위, Tomy Kim (former member of 김종서 band), 김도균 of 백두산 (he’s awesome!), and Tomi Kita of Tomi Kita Band.

One Response to “Guitar Zeus Korea”

  1. BooHwal ~ Born Again: Korea's Legendary Musicians Says:

    […] [서재혁] Guitar Zeus Korea […]


Leave a comment