[당신에게] To You (Father)

In a TV program titled “Nice to Meet You, Senior” (반갑습니다, 선배님) aired in June 2009, Kim Tae-Won paid a visit to his high school to meet his juniors in Sungsil High School (숭실고등학교), class 2-9 (second grade). After a day long exchanges, including a band audition, he chose two of the most outstanding lyrics the students wrote and also select the band members to perform the song in the Gorilla Concert held by the school.

The song, titled “당신에게” (To You) was written by to boys dedicated to their fathers (the boys in minute 2.03 and 2.27). You can check out the video from the part where Boohwal members show the boys how to play the song on their own instruments, and the actual concert which the kids performed.

그것이 뭔지 몰랐습니다 (I didn’t know what it was)
그것이 사랑인줄 몰랐습니다 (I didn’t know that it was love)
왜 시간이 흘러야 알게 될까요 (why does time have to flow by for me to know)
나는 늘 당신이 그립습니다 (I’m always missing you)

늘 간직해도 되나요 (Can I remember you forever?)
긴 시간 나에게 (a long time, for me)
위안이 됐어요 (is a consolation)
사랑합니다 사랑합니다 (I love you, I love you)
눈물이 나는 거겠죠 (my tears are falling down)

항상이죠 (always)
늘 그랬습니다 (always missing you)
당신의 이름은 아버지겠죠 (your name is father)
사랑하니까 사랑하니까 (because of love, because of love)
당신의 이름은 내 맘속에 아버지죠 (your name, in my heart, is father)


One Response to “[당신에게] To You (Father)”

  1. BooHwal ~ Born Again: Korea's Legendary Musicians Says:

    […] [김태원] [당신에게] To You (Father) […]


Leave a comment